Before archiving users, let us first understand its impact, and get clarity on what exactly happens when you assign Google Workspace archive license to a user.
This is what happens when you assign Google Workspace Archive User license to a user.
- Archived User can not login to Google Workspace services.
- Archived User can no longer receive emails, calendar invites or files.
- Gmail filters of archived users (e.g email forwarding filters setup in Gmail settings) will stop working.
Workaround –> however if you want to forward their emails, consider creating a default routing or content compliance policy in Google Workspace admin console which changes the envelope recipient from email@example.com TO firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Archived user’s data is retained in Google Vault as per your Vault retention rules, so Vault admins can search, investigate and export the data if required.
- Documents, Calendar invites and/or Google Sites owned by archived user will still be available for viewers and editors (within and outside domain as usual).
- DLP policies would be applied on archived users data too (if you have applied “Google Workspace Archive Enterprise” SKU), for e.g if you can create a new DLP policy saying “if the credit card number is found in docs, then block external sharing, it’ll be applied on archived user’s data too).
- Archived user will not show up in your Google Workspace Directory (contacts).